Showcase the Power of Asian Design on the Global Stage

The Hong Kong Design Centre (HKDC), supported by the NPO Aoyama Design Forum (ADF) as a media partner, will host the DFA Asia Design Awards 2023. Entries will be accepted until 30 June 2023, with an early bird discount of 50% off the entry fee until 30 April 2023.adf-web-magazine-dfa-2023

The DFA Asian Design Awards, lead sponsored by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (HKSAR), is one of Hong Kong's most prestigious awards, recognising projects that represent design excellence in Asia. With Asia’s growing influence in the international arena in various aspects, the Asian ways of design thinking and social betterment aspiration can inspire new and comprehensive solutions to global issues. The DFA DFAA 2023 accepts entries from 30 design categories spanning across six design disciplines, including Communication Design, Digital & Motion Design, Fashion & Accessory Design, Product & Industrial Design, Service & Experience Design, and Spatial Design, aiming to honour even more noteworthy designs in Asia.

Award categories

Calling for Award Entries from Six Design Disciplines:

(1) Communication Design
  • Identity & Branding
  • Packaging
  • Publication
  • Poster
  • Typography
  • Campaign
(2) Digital & Motion Design
  • Website
  • Application
  • User Interface (UI)
  • Game
  • Video
(3) Fashion & Accessory Design
  • Fashion Apparel
  • Functional Apparel
  • Intimate Wear
  • Jewellery & Fashion Accessory
  • Footwear
(4) Product & Industrial Design
  • Household Appliance
  • Homeware
  • Professional & Commercial Product
  • Information & Communications Technology
  • Leisure & Entertainment Product
(5) Service & Experience Design
  • Service Design
  • Experience Design
(6) Spatial Design
  • Residential Space
  • Hospitality & Leisure Space
  • Culture & Public Space
  • Commercial & Showroom Space
  • Workspace
  • Institutional Space
  • Event, Exhibition & Stage

Awards Structure

All design projects submitted will be assessed by an international judging panel comprised of world-leading design experts and professionals. The panel will determine the Grand, Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit Awards’ winners.

Entry Requirements

Design projects launched in one or more Asian markets between 1 January 2021 and 31 May 2023 are eligible for submission by their design owners, clients, brand owners, designers or design consultancies.

Judging Criteria

The judging panel will assess each entry based on the criteria below (as applicable):

Creativity and Human-centric Innovation

  1.  Usability
  2.  Aesthetic
  3. Sustainability
  4. Impact in Asia
  5. Commercial & Societal Success

Winners’ Entitlements

  • Trophies and certificates
  • Exhibition & online showcase
  • Awards ceremony & other events (Invitation to DFA Awards ceremony.)
  • Award endorsement mark winners may use globally

About DFA Design for Asia Awards

Since 2003, the “DFA Design for Asia Awards” honours design excellence and acknowledges user-centric design projects
which embrace the unique Asian perspectives to enhance and improve the quality of life for people in the region. Organised by Hong Kong Design Centre as one of the five programmes of the “DFA Awards”, the “DFA Design for Asia Awards” has been a platform for design talent and corporates to showcase their design projects internationally.

About Hong Kong Design Centre

As a non-governmental organisation registered in 2001 and established in 2002, Hong Kong Design Centre (HKDC) is a strategic partner of the HKSAR Government in establishing Hong Kong as an international centre of design excellence in Asia. Our public mission is to promote wider and strategic use of design and design thinking to create business value and improve societal well-being. Our initiatives are anchored by five major work directions: CONNECT, CELEBRATE, NURTURE, ADVANCE and ENGAGE.

Outline of the DFA Asia Design Awards 2023

Entries 1 April 2023 to 30 June 2023 (Hong Kong time)
Entry fee HK$2,000 per entry
Promotion50% off entry fee until 30 April 2022 (Hong Kong time)
Online submission
Online submissionHere