New “Digital & Motion Design” and “Service & Experience Design” disciplines added for wider project range

Hong Kong Design Centre (HKDC), supported by ADF (NPO Aoyama Design Forum) as media partner, invites applications for the DFA Asia Design Awards 2022 until 30 June 15 July 2022. Entries received by 30 April are eligible for a 50% discount on the entry fee.adf-web-magazine-dfa-design-awards-2022

 The DFA Asian Design Awards, lead sponsored by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (HKSAR), is one of Hong Kong's most prestigious awards recognising projects that exemplify design excellence in Asia. Amid rapid changes and digitalisation around the globe, human-centred designs are playing an ever increasing role in bringing betterment to our lives. Keeping in step with the latest trends and developments of the design industry, the DFA DFAA proudly introduces two new design disciplines – Digital & Motion Design and Service & Experience Design – since the 2022 edition to recognise and celebrate Asian design excellence in a broader context and perspective. Design projects that fit these realms, or four other disciplines, namely Communication Design, Fashion & Accessory Design, Product & Industrial Design and Spatial Design, are welcome for entering the DFA DFAA.

Seeking Award Entries from 6 Design Disciplines

(1) Communication Design
  •  Identity & Branding
  •  Packaging
  • Publication
  • Poster
  • Typography
  • Marketing Campaign
(2) Digital & Motion Design
  •  Website
  • Applications
  • User Interface (UI)
  • Games
  • Video
(3) Fashion & Accessory Design
  • Fashion Apparel
  • Functional Apparel
  • Intimate Wear
  • Jewellery & Fashion Accessories
  • Footwear
(4) Product & Industrial Design
  • Household Appliance
  • Homeware
  • Professional & Commercial Product
  • Information & Communications
  • Technology Product
  • Leisure & Entertainment Product
(5) Service & Experience Design
(6) Spatial Design
  • Home & Residential Spaces
  • Hospitality & Leisure Spaces
  • Culture & Public Spaces
  • Commercial & Showroom Spaces
  • Workspaces
  • Institutional Spaces
  • Event, Exhibition & Stage

Award structure

All design projects submitted through open submission and nomination will be assessed by a judging panel comprised of world-leading design professionals from across the globe for the Grand, Gold, Silver, Bronze or Merit Awards.

Entry requirements

Design projects launched in one or more Asian markets between 1 January 2020 and 31 May 2022 are eligible for submission by the design owner or client, or the brand owner, designer or design consultancy.

Judging criteria

  1. Creativity and Human Centric Innovation
  2.  Usability
  3.  Aesthetic
  4.  Sustainability
  5.  Impact in Asia
  6.  Commercial and Societal Success

Winners’ Entitlements & Exposure

  • Trophy & Certificate (certificate only for Merit Award winners)
  • Awards Publication:
    Each winner will receive a complimentary copy of the DFA Awards publication introducing all the winning
    projects and the project teams behind them. The publication will also be disseminated to global industry
    leaders to enhance the winners’ exposure.
  • Exhibition & Online Showcase:
    All winning projects will be showcased at relevant exhibitions and DFA Awards’ online showcase.
  • Awards presentation and other events:
    Invitation to DFA Awards Presentation Ceremony & Business of Design Week (BODW) event to establish networks with international and local designers and business leaders. Selected winners will also be invited to speak at global and regional talks, forums or other events to increase their global exposure.
  • Awards Endorsement Mark:
    Winners will receive authorisation to use the globally recognised DFA DFAA Endorsement Mark for further promotion.

DFA Design for Asia Awards 2022 – Submission Details

DateNow - 15 July 2022 (Hong Kong Time)
Entry feeHK$2,000 per entry
Promotion50% off on entry fee for submissions on or before 30 April 2022 (Hong Kong Time)
Online Submission