A Unique Opportunity for Those in the Design and Architecture Community to Receive the International Exposure and Acknowledgement

The 14th Annual AZ Awards is Now Open for Submissions. AZURE’s 14th annual competition is accepting entries into its eight major categories, from architecture, landscapes, and urban design, to interiors, graphic design, product design, concepts, and the A+ Award for Student Work. Projects, products, and concepts can be submitted here until February 23 2024.


Photo credit: AZURE

Over its 14 years, the AZ Awards has grown in impact and stature to become an international measure for excellence, attracting entries from some of the most innovative firms around the world. In 2023, the competition received entries from 53 countries – an achievement that solidifies the AZ Awards’ growing reputation. Last year’s edition celebrated more winners than ever before — including MVRDV’s striking Valley mixed-use complex in Amsterdam, and Shim-Sutcliffe’s exquisitely refined Ace Hotel Toronto. You can see all winners and finalists here on the AZ Awards website.


Photo credit: AZURE

The jury of internationally renowned practitioners in the areas of product design, architecture, landscape architecture, and interiors will convene virtually in March to evaluate all entries. Past jurors have included Alison Brooks, Lawrence Scarpa, Ma Yansong, Nader Tehrani, Nina-Marie Lister, Pascale Sablan, Marion Weiss, Róisín Lafferty, Craig Dykers, Sou Fujimoto, and Patricia Urquiola.

AZURE and its partners encourage design and architecture professionals, developers, urban planners, students, and manufacturers to submit their work to the AZ Awards for an opportunity to step into the global spotlight, elevate their profile, and raise public awareness for their firm and their clients.

Overview of the Award

  • January 2: Competition opens
  • January 31: Early bird deadline
  • February 23: Competition closes
  • April 18: Finalists announced and People’s Choice voting launched
  • June 21: Winners revealed – Winners and finalists are celebrated at the AZ Awards Gala in Toronto and get published online and in print in the AZ Awards Annual – AZURE’s July/August issue.

The 2024 AZ Awards is open to:

  • Designers and design firms from all disciplines
  • Architects, landscape architects, and architectural firms
  • Developers
  • Post-secondary students enrolled in design and architecture programs in 2023
  • Clients and manufacturers
  • Projects must be completed on or before December 31, 2023
  • Products must be prototyped or in production
The Categories


  • Residential buildings
  • Commercial and institutional buildings over 1,000 square metres
  • Commercial and institutional buildings under 1,000 square metres
  • Temporary and demonstration projects; adaptive re-use

Landscape Architecture:

  • Public and private landscapes

Urban Design:

  • Built and unbuilt multi-building development projects (commercial, residential, or mixed-use)
  • Infrastructure; urban interventions


  • Residential spaces
  • Commercial and institutional spaces


  • Single-piece furniture
  • Furniture systems and collections
  • Lighting fixtures
  • Lighting schemes
  • Interior products
  • Architectural products
  • Tech products (new)

Experiential Graphic Design:

  • Wayfinding
  • Sign programs
  • Information and map design
  • Experiential brand identity


  • Unbuilt competition entries and proposals
  • Product concepts/prototypes

A+ Award for Student Work:

Projects developed by a student enrolled in a post-secondary design or architecture program in 2023. The winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize.

Social Good and Environmental Leadership Awards:

All entries may be considered for the Social Good Award and/or the Environmental Leadership Award by election. A winner in each of these two categories will be selected. Entries may be submitted in one or both categories. 

For the Social Good Award, projects/products must advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm. For the Environmental Leadership Award, projects/products must show sensitivity and respect for the use and management of natural resources throughout their lifecycle, especially with respect to materials and energy use.